

Board of Alderman Request for Action

MEETING DATE: 6/21/2022 DEPARTMENT: Administration

AGENDA ITEM: Appointment of the TIF Commission

REQUESTED BOARD ACTION:

Appointment of the TIF Commission in anticipation of future TIF incentive requests.

SUMMARY:

For each TIF proposal that is submitted, a TIF Commission must be formed for the purposes of holding a public hearing for the TIF Plan. Notice of the public hearing will be published a minimum of two times in the local paper. During the public hearing, members of the TIF Commission will be able to ask questions of the developers while reviewing the proposed TIF plan for recommend approval or denial to the Board of Aldermen.

The TIF Commission is comprised of eleven members. Six are nominated by the Mayor to be representatives of the City, two are nominated from the school district, two are nominated from the County, and one is nominated from all of the remaining taxing jurisdictions (zoo district, library district, fire district, ambulance district).

The Mayor nominates the following individuals to the TIF Commission:

Steve Sarver Former Alderman, former Smithville Planning Commission

Melissa Wilson Member of Planning Commission, former Alderman

Alicia Neth Economic Development Committee Chair, Smithville Main Street

President

Deb Dotson Member of Planning Commission

Adam Royds Economic Development Committee Member

Karrick Brown Economic Development Committee Member, local realtor

PREVIOUS ACTION:

June 6, 2017 – TIF Commission Appointments

POLICY OBJECTIVE:

Click or tap here to enter text.

FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS:

Click or tap here to enter text.

ATTACHMENTS:

□ Ordinance	□ Contract
☐ Resolution	☐ Plans
☐ Staff Report	☐ Minutes
☐ Other:	